finished dress!

So I finally finished the red dress! Mostly, anyway. All the seams are sewn and flat felled and it’s ready to be hemmed. I didn’t have quite as much fabric as I’d hoped, so it hits about mid calf. I could either leave it is as a shorter overdress, or add a length of another color around the bottom. Given what’s in my stash I think I’d have to add white. Not sure how I feel about white at the bottom! Not the most practical idea, certainly. I could wait a little and see what I have left when I make up the gold wool for Galeran… ponder.

Anyway. I had originally planned to norskify the hell out of this with mammen embroidery but I have changed my mind; if I do something less culturally specific the dress is more versatile. But I do want to jazz it up somehow, just not something that screams ‘norse’ so I think I’m going to take inspiration from these lovely cuffs I saw at Crown last fall and seek out some metal findings and accent those. It’ll be sort of generically period-esque, I know, but beautiful and versatile!

3 responses to “finished dress!

  1. Was this a Gothic fitted gown? (cotehardie/kirtle/etc) There are several 15th c illustrations with a fairly deep (8-12″ish) contrasting hem on these gowns. A couple of them also appear to be gathered on. Bent my head a bit when I saw them. If I can find links I’ll pass them on. Or you could make a field trip up here sometime. Liutgard’s ‘House of Pain’ (sewing room/studio) is always happy for more vict-, er, visitors. 🙂

  2. its very nice and amazing project.

Leave a Reply

