not so sekrit project

Someone poked me a while ago for not posting recently.  Well, I didn’t want to post about what I was working on, since it was a surprise.  But now it’s done, and you are welcome to go look and review and offer comments!

In fact, I really hope you will offer comments.  I put a lot of thought into making this a period-appropriate piece, and since the Embellisher’s Guild sponsored a competition at 12th Night, I entered it there before giving it away as planned.

Total. Waste. Of. Time.  I got the feedback ‘love this pouch! you do great work!’  No comments on my two pages of documentation (i.e. about a page and a half more than most folks), on how well I did approximating a period piece/not, no responses to the various ‘things I wish I could change/want to learn more about/need more practice in’ section.  Srsly.  What was the point of entering?  Extra frustrating given that this has been my experience in almost every A&S competition I’ve ever entered.  How am I ever going to improve if no one does anything but blow smoke up my ass?

Oh well.  They just extended the deadline for single entries at Kingdom A&S, so I have until the end of the week to decide if I’m up for having it there.  A little nervous – that might be the other end of the spectrum and more than I want to deal with.  Thoughts?

(Ohyeah.  And I’s a protegé now.  Which is why I’m posting all about art stuff. 🙂 )

4 responses to “not so sekrit project

  1. I’m sorry you had that experience with the competition. I’ve only entered one but I got a fair amount of feedback there. I wonder what would happen if you entered this as a challenge in the guild. I’ve never done that but you would think there would be more feedback in that format.

  2. I’m glad to know my experience wasn’t the norm, at least.

    What does it mean to enter a challenge in the guild?

    • I’ve never challenged anything, but according to their website you can challenge for different levels within the guild, junior student, senior student, etc… I would think you would get more feedback that way. I don’t that for certain though, my only involvement with them has been reading their website and joining the e-list.

  3. Gwenlliana has it right – if you just put it up for display you won’t get nearly as much in-depth feedback as you do when you challenge for a guild rank or enter it in a formal competition like Kingdom A&S. I would go ahead and enter the single entry if you want a detailed opinion of your work.

    Also, I already gave you my comments on things that could be better, and most of them you noticed yourself. Or willingly skipped over due to time constraints 🙂 I’d be happy to critique your documentation based on feedback I’ve gotten on my own documentation for single-entry 11th Night 2009. So I’m not an expert, but I will give comments!

Leave a Reply

